SenseiOnline presents 28th Benkyoukai (Study Forum)
Mary Sisk Noguchi "Guiding Your Students to a Japanese-English Kanji Dictionary"

November 8th (Friday), 2002 at 9am Japan
November 7th (Thursday) 4pm PST, 6pm CST, 7pm EST, 2pm Hawaii, 8th (Friday), midnight GMT, 11am Sydney, if this calculation is correct. To be sure, please go to Timezone Converter

Featured speaker

Mary Sisk Noguchi

Mary Sisk Noguchi is an associate professor at Meijo University in Nagoya, where she teaches intercultural communication and EFL. She obtained a Master's degree in Adult Education from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A lifelong kanji lover and learner, Noguchi has lived in Japan for sixteen years. She has taught Japanese to university and junior high school students in North Carolina, and to adults residing in Japan. Noguchi is co-author of "Iki Iki Nihongo," a TPR teaching resource book, and writes a column for the Japan Times called "Kanji Clinic." Her Web site (www.kanjiclinic.com) aims to provide practical advice and encouragement to kanji learners seeking to become literate in Japanese.

Short description of the presentation

Are you teaching kanji to students from non-kanji using countries? If so, please share with us your experiences and questions regarding Japanese-English character dictionaries. Which of the four comprehensive printed kanji dictionaries (Nelson, Halpern, Spahn/Hadamitzky, Haig) do you recommend to your students? (The differences among them are detailed in my paper). Which compact kanji guides/dictionaries have you and your students found useful? At what point do you advise your students to invest in a more comprehensive character dictionary? Online and portable electronic kanji dictionaries are also being widely used; to what extent are they making printed dictionaries obsolete? What are their advantages/disadvantages? Come and obtain the information you need to steer your students towards the character dictionary most appropriate to their particular kanji learning needs.

What is going to happen?

Mary sensei's papers are at
http://www.kanjiclinic.com/langteachdict.htm
http://www.kanjiclinic.com/kc20final.htm

So read the paper above and go to TAPPED IN. There, you will be able to discuss this topic with Mary sensei and others from around the world. TAPPED IN is open to everybody and the presentation will be done in English.

Where to go

This event is open to anybody who is interested in the topic. It will be at After School Online Room at http://www.tappedin.org

Instructions to log in as a guest and get to the After School Online Room:
1. Go to http://www.tappedin.org
2. Click the "Guest Login" Button on the TAPPED IN home page
3. Be patient while loading
4. When prompted in the bottom window, erase the text next to the word SAY, and type your name and hit return.
5. When loading is done, you will be in the Reception area.
6. To talk, type in the message in the window next to the word SAY. Then press the SEND button or the ENTER key
7. In order to get to After School Online room, you can click on After School Online in the map.

Download and print this document. It will explain the interface really well. http://www.tappedin.sri.com/info/docs/TAPestry3.pdf

System Requirements

TAPPED IN uses Java applet called TAPestry. It requires Java, frames and JavaScript which some older browsers do not support well. If you have problems, please read TAPPED IN's Frequently Asked Questions page.

If you have problems connecting from a school computer, you may be behind firewall. Please read Firewall explanation in FAQ..

If you still need help, please mail TAPPED IN staff at contactus@tappedin.org

About TAPPED IN

TAPPED IN (http://www.tappedin.org) is an online conference center hosting an international community of education professionals. Teachers, librarians, professional development staff, researchers and students engage in professional development programs and informal collaborative activities with colleagues and attend online dicussions and classes.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Manager of SenseiOnline, Keiko Schneider at kschnei@sabotenweb.com

Back to benkyoukai page
Back to senseiOnline page
Back to Keiko Schneider's Bookmarks