Rescheduled SenseiOnline presents 17th Benkyoukai (Study Forum)
Miyuki Fukai "Possibility of the Internet to Integrate the National Standards into the Classroom: Evidence from A Pilot Study with Advanced-Level Learners of Japanese "

Januray 11th (Friday), 2002 at 4pm EST, 1pm PST
3pm CST, 11am Hawaii, 9pm GMT, 12th 6am Japan, 8am Sydney, if this calculation is correct.(To be sure, please go to Timezone Converter)

Featured speaker

Miyuki Fukai

Miyuki Fukai photo Miyuki Fukai is a Ph.D. student of Language Education, School of Education at Indiana University Bloomington (IUB). Between 1995 and 1997, she participated in the Japanese Exchange (JALEX) program sponsored by the Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnership and taught Japanese in a high school and middle school in Columbus, Indiana.

In March 1998, she received a B.A. in Japanese pedagogy through Osaka University of Foreign Studies. She has been at IUB since September 1998. While studying for her Ph.D. degree , she also teaches beginning-level Japanese courses at IUB.

Her research interests include the use of computer-mediated communication in foreign language learning, particularly issues related to interaction and learners1 affective factors such as anxiety and motivation. .

Short description of the presentation

I'm going to present how the World Wide Web and/or e-mail can help teachers and learners meet the National Standards. I draw upon evidence from my pilot study and share some ideas of internet-based activities to address the Japanese Standards.

What is going to happen?

Fukai sensei's paper is at

So read the paper above and go to TAPPED IN. There will be Fukai sensei and other participants. TAPPED IN is open to everybody and the presentation will be done in English.

Where to go

This event is open to anybody who is interested in the topic. It will be at After School Online Room at

Instructions to log in as a guest and get to the After School Online Room:
1. Go to
2. Click the "Guest Login" Button on the TAPPED IN home page
3. Be patient while loading
4. When prompted in the bottom window, erase the text next to the word SAY, and type your name and hit return.
5. When loading is done, you will be in the Reception area.
6. To talk, type in the message in the window next to the word SAY. Then press the SEND button or the ENTER key
7. In order to get to After School Online room, you can click on After School Online in the map.

Download and print this document. It will explain the interface really well.

System Requirements

TAPPED IN uses Java applet called TAPestry. It requires Java, frames and JavaScript which some older browsers do not support well. If you have problems, please read TAPPED IN's Frequently Asked Questions page.

If you have problems connecting from a school computer, you may be behind firewall. Please read Firewall explanation in FAQ..

If you still need help, please mail TAPPED IN staff at


TAPPED IN ( is an online conference center hosting an international community of education professionals. Teachers, librarians, professional development staff, researchers and students engage in professional development programs and informal collaborative activities with colleagues and attend online dicussions and classes.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Manager of SenseiOnline, Keiko Schneider at

Back to senseiOnline page
Back to Keiko Schneider's Bookmarks